Eight of the Best: Bundesliga clubs in Europe

The Bundesliga will have eight teams playing in Europe next season.

Eintracht Frankfurt’s sensational Europa League triumph will make Germany the most represented country in European club competitions next season.

The Eagles beat Glasgow Rangers in a dramatic penalty shootout to lift the title and earn automatic qualification to the EUFA Champions League.

Germany has four spots reserved in the Champions League, which sees the teams that finish in the top four qualify.

There will thus be five German teams in the Champions League, following Eintracht Frankfurt unforgettable victory in Europe.

They will be joined by champions Bayern Munich, runners-up Borussia Dortmund, third-placed Bayer Leverkusen and RB Leipzig, who finished fourth.

Europa League

The Bundesliga is afforded two spots in the Europa League, which would normally go to the team that finishes fifth as well as the DFB Pokal (German Cup) winner.

With the German Cup champions Leipzig already qualified for the Champions League, the finalists Freiburg, who finished sixth, will take their place in the Europa League next season.

Union Berlin, the team that finished fifth, will join them for their second straight appearance in European club competition. The Eisernen were Germany’s representatives in the inaugural UEFA Europa Conference League in the recently concluded campaign.

The Europa Conference League spot next season will thus be taken the first ever Bundesliga champion, 1. FC Köln who finished in seventh place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.